Share quotes from famous books or tips for budding writers.

List of Percy Jackson Books in Chronological Order

List of Percy Jackson Books in Chronological Order

Percy Jackson is a hero not unknown to many of us. His journey in this spellbinding adventure series has had people, especially children, from all over the world dive into the vast world of Greek demigods. This article puts forth a list of Percy Jackson books, in order of release.
Shreyas Dasharathe
Did You Know?
Author Rick Riordan started writing these stories for his son, who requested his father to tell him bedtime stories. His son, was at the time diagnosed with ADHD and dyslexia, just as our hero, Percy Jackson.
How awesome would it be to imagine ancient characters from epics and mythology to be existing even today! And how awesome-er would it be to find you're related to some of them! Meet Percy Jackson, son of Poseidon, the Greek God of the Sea. Our courageous hero and his demigod friends take you on an adventure like never before; on an unimaginable journey with Greek gods and their magical world of unfathomable possibilities.

Author Rick Riordan, with his vivid imagination and inventive story lines, creates beautiful and equally exciting worlds, where you will get a sip of some classic Greek mythology, along with a gripping narrative, that will have your night lamps burning as you go page by page, book by book, into this adventure.

Percy Jackson & the Olympians book series is one of the most loved among young readers. It has garnered praise from critics too, and swept several awards over the years of its publication. What follows is a list of the Percy Jackson book series in chronological order, along with a brief about each book.
The Lightning Thief (2005)

Percy Jackson is a 12-year old boy with ADHD and dyslexia, who lives in New York. While on a trip to Montauk with his mother Sally Jackson, a series of excruciating incidents take place, and Percy discovers he is the son of Poseidon, the Greek Dod of the Sea and Oceans. He also finds out that all the gods are accusing Poseidon of stealing the lightning bolt of Zeus. Percy sets out to find the real thief and bring back the lightning sword, to clear his father's name and save the world from the war between the Olympian gods.

He is accompanied by Grover Underwood, a satyr, and Annabeth Chase, a daughter of Athena, on his adventure into the Greek underworld. The book is a roller ,coaster ride, with various mythological figures and events waiting to surprise you with every page you turn.

The Sea of Monsters (2006)

After a group of Laestrygonians attack Percy, he is saved by Tyson, a cyclops disguised as a human. When Annabeth, Percy, and Tyson arrive at Camp Half-Blood, they find the camp under attack, and discover that Thalia's tree has been poisoned. The head camp instructor, Chiron, is the main suspect. On the other hand, Percy has recurring nightmares about Grover being held captive in the 'Sea of Monsters' by a cyclops named Polyphemus. When he tells Annabeth about his dreams, she infers that Grover has found the Golden Fleece, which is capable of curing the poisoned Thalia's tree. Percy, Annabeth, and Tyson escape from the camp, and set out to find the Grover and the Golden Fleece, by themselves.

The Titan's Curse (2007) 

While Percy, Annabeth, Thalia, and Grover are on a mission to rescue two half-blood siblings Bianca and Nico di Angelo, they are attacked by a Manticore. Goddess Artemis and her Hunters come to their rescue, and help them fight the monster. Annabeth falls off the cliff while fighting the monster. Later, when Artemis is captured, and Annabeth still missing, Thalia, and Grover, later joined by Percy, set out to a find Annabeth and Artemis, and ultimately to prevent the downfall of Olympus.

The Battle of the Labyrinth (2008)

After being expelled from another school, Percy flees to Camp Half-Blood. He comes to know about the labyrinth there, and he, along with Annabeth, find an entrance into it. He later learns about Luke's horrifying plans to exploit the labyrinth. With Annabeth leading the quest, along with Percy, Tyson, and Grover, this tale of their journey leading up to the battle puts forth an amazing journey for the readers.

The Last Olympian (2009)

Percy Jackson learns about Kronos's plans of attacking Olympus. Thus begins the story of an amazing conclusion to the series. Percy bathes in the River Styx, making himself invulnerable, and prepares to protect Mount Olympus from the wrath Kronos intends to bring along. The action-packed journey of all the demigods trying to save New York from Kronos consumes you in its wonderful description and crazy twists. The fifth and the final book is by far the most acclaimed in the series, and was on the bestseller lists for weeks.
Supplementary Works Featuring Percy Jackson
  • The Demigod Files
  • The Ultimate Guide
  • Demigods and Monsters
  • The Demigod Diaries
Apart from these, the first two Percy Jackson books (The Lightning Thief and The Sea of Monsters) have also been made into graphic novels. The same two were also made into films in year 2010 and 2013.
We know there are a lot of die-hard Percy Jackson fans out there. For all those and the new ones, we would love to hear from you and your experience, in the comments section below!