announcement

Share quotes from famous books or tips for budding writers.

10 Recommended Books if You Like Divergent

10 Recommended Books if You Like Divergent

So you have finished the Divergent series? Need more from the action-packed dystopian future. Fret not, cause we at Buzzle have come up with a list of books similar to Divergent.
Vijith Menon
Fact
Veronica Roth, the author, released 'Four', which consists of the trilogy as well as short stories related to Tobias Eaton or Four, one of the protagonists of the story about Divergent.
Divergent is a series set in post-apocalyptic Chicago. The city has five factions; namely, Amity (peace), Abnegation (selfless), Erudite (intelligent), Candor (honesty), and Dauntless (brave). At the age of sixteen, everyone needs to make a choice as to which faction they belong to. Beatrice Prior, the protagonist of the story, faces a similar dilemma whether to choose faction or blood, since her father is the leader of Abnegation. Though her choices will shock many, an impending threat on the city will force Beatrice to reevaluate what's precious to her. Divergent is followed by 2 sequels―Insurgent and Allegiant―which continue her story. If you still feel unconvinced, watch the movie and you'll be hungry for more.

For now, zip through this list, and we guarantee it'll give you the same rush as Divergent.
10 Books Like Divergent
The Hunger Games   by Suzanne Collins

Set in the dystopian nation of Panem, this is a story of Katniss Everdeen, our sixteen-year old protagonist, who takes part in a yearly event called the Hunger Games. It is a tournament that takes place annually between the 12 districts as punishment for rebelling against the Capitol. Read the book to find out if Katniss survives long enough to return to her home district amid the rebellion brewing once again against the Capitol. The book has 2 sequels; namely, Catching Fire  and Mockingjay. The book and its sequels have been adapted into successful movies, with the latest one 'Mockingjay - Part 1' released on 21 November. Catch for the release for Part 2 due in 2015.

The Maze Runner ― by James Dashner

The novel begins when an elevator bringing the protagonist Thomas into an area called the Glade. Thomas has no memories of himself, except his name. The people living in the Glade call themselves Gladers, and have been living in isolation for the last two years. They have learned to grow crops and survive in the wilderness. Every morning, the maze opens at sunrise, which the Runners rush in to explore to find their origins and maybe their survival. The maze is inhabited by creatures called Grievers, that kill the people trapped inside. Read this book to find out if Thomas escapes or whether he finds himself in another trap. The book has 2 sequels; namely, The Scorch Trials  and The Death Cure. It also has 2 prequels; The Kill Order  and Fever Code. The book has been successfully adapted into a movie.

The Mortal Instruments ― by Cassandra Clare

The story introduces us to Clay Fray, an artist living a normal life, until she sees someone murdered at a nightclub. Later, she finds out that she's a Shadowhunter, a human with angelic qualities. Read the book to find out how she battles demons, escaping from the underworld oblivious to the humans, as she discovers more of her angelic powers. The book has spawned five sequels; namely, City of Ash, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, and City of Heavenly Fire. It has prequels set in the same universe; called collectively The Infernal Devices, but set in the Victorian Era. It also has a set of sequels called The Dark Artifices, to be published in 2015.

Legend ― by Marie Lu

Set in the Republic, our story follows the protagonist June, as she tries to find out the murderer of her brother. The video footage shows that a suspect, a fifteen-year old wanted criminal, Day, is responsible for the execution. June tries to take down Day as revenge for her brother. Can she overcome her feelings for Day? The truth is more shocking as the events unfold in this dystopian thriller. The book is the first of a trilogy, followed by Prodigy and Champion.

The Fifth Wave ― by Rick Yancey

The aftermath of an alien invasion experienced by 16-year old Cassie Sullivan, as she tries to survive Earth, is explored in this story. Read to find out how Cassie relies on street-smarts, as she meets Evan Walker, the last hope for her survival.

The Uglies ― by Scott Westerfeld

It follows the story of Tally Youngblood, as she waits eagerly for her sixteenth birthday, so she can receive surgery (known as The Surge hereafter) to look 'pretty'. Set in a dystopian future, where 98% of the Earth's population was wiped out, the world as we know is divided into 100 city-run states. Read to find out as Tally finds the truth about the surgery, and the rebellion soon to follow. The book has spawned three sequels; Pretties, Specials, and Extras.

Dust Lands Trilogy ― by Moira Young

This book outlines the adventures of Saba, who lives in wasteland, ransacked by sandstorms. As soon as she turns eighteen, her brother Lugh gets kidnapped by four horsemen draped in hooded cloaks. She teams up with Jack, who leads the Free Hawks, a girly gang of revolutionaries. If tough girls stokes your fire, this one's right up your alley. Blood Red Road is the first in a trilogy, followed by Rebel Heart  and Raging Star.

Wither ― by Lauren DeStefano

Wither is set in the future, where scientists have created perfect humans who are devoid of illnesses, but as a consequence created a virus that spelled doom for their children, killing females at the age of twenty, and males at the age of twenty-five, which was carried onto the next generation. It is the first of the Chemical Garden trilogy, followed by Fever and Sever.

Insider ― by Maria V. Snyder

It tells the story of Trella, who cleans the pipes of Inside, which is situated underground. Known as the Queen of Pipes, she knows every nook and cranny of Inside. While accidentally starting a rebellion against the Uppers, she jumps at the chance of finding the Gateway; the exit to Inside. Will she succeed? Read the conclusion to this series in its sequel Outside In.

Breathe ― by Sarah Crossan

Imagine a world without air... Quinn, Alina, and Bea are currently living it. As the air in the atmosphere has decreased, oxygen levels have plummeted. People are living in a dome where you have to pay to breathe. Follow the adventures of the three, as they discover more than they need, in this fantastic thriller. It will leave you gasping... literally. Also read the sequel called Resist.
Some Other Options
  • Deity
  • Shatter Me
  • Scarlet
  • The Caster Chronicles
  • A Million Suns
  • Shipbreaker
  • Delirium
If you have any other personal favorites, feel free to share the same with all of us, in the comments section below.